Technical Brief · Tracker Control Retrofit

Calle Larga PV Plant — Tracker Control System
(TCU / NCU / Control Box)

Consolidated documentation of the installed tracker control hardware and compatibility assessment against the proposed Solarsurges replacement. Prepared for vendor evaluation: input power & cabling, connectors, and PV-module compatibility.

Plant · PMGD Calle Larga SpA, Calle Larga, Valparaíso Region, Chile Prepared by · iEnergia Date · July 2026 Status · For vendor review — items marked TO BE CONFIRMED require vendor input
81
Trackers
86
Motors / TCUs
1
NCU (plant-wide)
353
Strings × 29 modules
~10,237
Longi LR6-72PD modules
2.4 GHz
Zigbee field network

1Executive Summary

Calle Larga operates Alion Energy Storm Tracker (AST) single-axis trackers controlled by P4Q Electronics "Suntrack" electronics: 86 self-powered Tracker Control Units (TCU) — one per motor — coordinated by a single Network Control Unit (NCU) over a wireless Zigbee 2.4 GHz Modbus mesh. Each TCU is powered by its own dedicated 30 W auxiliary PV panel and LiFePO4 battery, so no power or communication cabling runs to the trackers.

The prospective vendor (Shanghai Solarsurges Technology Co., Ltd.) has stated that both the TCU and the NCU should be replaced. This brief confirms that position is technically forced: the Solarsurges field radio (Sub-1GHz / LoRa mesh) is not interoperable with the installed Zigbee network, so a partial or mixed fleet is not possible — the retrofit must swap the NCU and all 86 TCUs (plus the wind sensor unit) in one campaign.

Key compatibility picture: the self-powered architecture matches (no new field cabling); NCU supply voltage matches (220–230 VAC); PV modules are unaffected by a controller-only swap. The three items that decide feasibility are: (1) the replacement TCU's motor drive rating against the Alion 24 VDC slew-drive motors, (2) mating or re-terminating the motor connector present on all 86 motor pigtails (field-verified as WEIPU SP21 series 3-pin screw-coupling; P4Q drawings state Binder 99-5606-75-03), and (3) SCADA re-integration and Chilean RF homologation. Section 5 lists every point the vendor must confirm.

2Installed System

All values below are extracted from the original manufacturer documentation and as-built drawings held by iEnergia. Each claim carries its source document and page.

2.1 TCU — P4Q Suntrack "Self-Powered" tracker controller (×86)

Identification & enclosure
Manufacturer / modelP4Q Electronics (Suntrack), Self-Powered controller, Zigbee variant DS p.1,14
EnclosureExtruded aluminum 6060 + ASA covers; membrane keypad; external emergency stop; fuse holder; Gore-Tex vent DS p.2,5
Dimensions / weight344 × 167 × 135 mm; 2.8 kg (3Ah) / 3.3 kg (6Ah) IM p.13–14
Mounting4 holes 9.5 × 11.5 mm, screw spacing 317 × 129 mm, on bracket shared with aux PV panel IM p.21
Protection / environmentIP65 / NEMA 3S; −10…+60 °C; altitude < 3000 m DS p.7
StandardsCE; IEC 61000 EMC series; ASTM B117 (450 h salt mist); ETSI EN 300 328 (radio); IEC 62817 test reports on file DS p.11
Power input (self-powered)
ArchitectureDedicated auxiliary PV panel + LiFePO4 battery — no grid/AC connection at the tracker DS p.5,17
Aux PV panel30 W / 36 V, monocrystalline, 645 × 345 × 25 mm, ≥ IP65, P/N ZPS2X36C001 ZPS dwg
Input voltage window26–40 VDC typical (50 V / 1.5 A absolute max) DS p.8
BatteryLiFePO4 8-series, 25.6 V nominal, 3 Ah (8S1P) or 6 Ah (8S2P), CC-CV; fuse 10 A / 15 A. Installed size: TO BE CONFIRMED DS p.9–10
Motor output
Motor commanded24 VDC brushed (Alion slew-drive motor) DS p.8
Max motor current6 A (3Ah pack) / 12 A (6Ah pack); electronics flag overcurrent > 15.5 A; PCB rated 300 W continuous @ 24 VDC DS p.8,16
Duty limitMax pulse 30 s at max motor current followed by 10 s rest (6Ah variant note) IM p.13
CircuitConnector (exact P/N)CableSource
MOTORField-verified (13-Jul-2026): WEIPU SP21 series, 3-pin, screw-thread coupling, CE marked — contacts numbered 1/2/3 (see photos below).
⚠ P4Q documentation specifies Binder 99-5606-75-03 (3-pin bayonet) — the installed connector differs from the documented part. Pinout per documentation: Pin 1 → Motor − · Pin 2 → Motor + · Pin 3 → NC (pin count/numbering consistent with field unit; polarity to be re-verified on site).
Motor-side terminations: insulated crimp receptacles 6.35 × 0.81 mm (2.5 mm²)
2 × 16 AWG, UL 2464, UV-protected, 1650 mm; cable gland M16×1.5 IP68Field photo · C16003#38 · IM p.24
DC POWER + (from aux panel)MC4-compatible female — non-standard part, Sungold Solar P/N FL02701PV1-F 2.5 mm² 0.6/1 kV, ~500 mm; gland M12×1.5 IP68C16003#01 · IM p.24
DC POWER −MC4-compatible malePV1-F 2.5 mm², ~450–500 mmC16003#02
COMM (local service, RS-485)Panel: WEIPU SP1312/S4C · aerial plug: WEIPU SP1310/P4 Type I.
Pin 1 3V3 · Pin 2 RS485 power · Pin 3 RS485 − · Pin 4 RS485 +
service use only (USB-RS485 converter)IM p.25
ZB (radio)Zigbee antenna, 300 mm flying lead, hangs loose downward—IM p.24
Field photo: WEIPU SP21 series motor connector, side view
Motor connector — field verification (13-Jul-2026), side view. Body marked WEIPU SP21 SERIES, CE; screw-thread coupling ring. This is the connector actually installed on the TCU→motor circuit — it differs from the Binder part in the P4Q drawings. — iEnergia site photo
Field photo: WEIPU SP21 motor connector mating face, 3 contacts numbered 1-3
Motor connector — mating face. 3 female contacts numbered 1 / 2 / 3 (consistent with documented pinout: 1 = Motor −, 2 = Motor +, 3 = NC). — iEnergia site photo, 13-Jul-2026
TCU end faces: MOTOR, EMERGENCY STOP, FUSE / COMM, POWER-, POWER+, VENT, ZB
TCU connector faces (3Ah variant). Left face: MOTOR, EMERGENCY STOP, FUSE. Right face: COMM, POWER−, POWER+, VENT, ZB antenna. — P4Q Installation & Maintenance Manual D002-PS17026, p.23, Fig. 14
Motor connector connection and connector reference list
Motor & panel connector reference. Bayonet-locking motor connector (Binder 99-5606-75-03) and MC4-compatible power pair. — Installation Manual D002-PS17026, p.24, Figs. 16–17
Motor cable drawing C16003#38
Motor cable assembly drawing. Binder 99-5606-75-03 connector, 2×16 AWG UL2464 cable, 1650 mm, pin/color table (Red/1→M1, Black/2→M2). — P4Q drawing ASSY-C16003#38 Rev A, sheet 1
Power+ cable drawing C16003#01
Aux-panel power (+) cable drawing. MC4-compatible female (non-standard, Sungold Solar FL02701), PV1-F 2.5 mm² 0.6/1 kV. — P4Q drawing ASSY-C16003#01 Rev A, sheet 1

2.2 Control & sensing (inside the TCU)

MicrocontrollerAtmel ATxmega128A3U; USNO SPA solar-position algorithm, computational error < 0.015° DS p.12
InclinometerInternal, Kionix KX-023 3-axis, 0.2° accuracy @25 °C — no external position sensor on the tracker DS p.12
Tracking precision0.1°; backtracking supported IM p.12
Firmware updatesLocal, from SCADA/NCU, or from PC over the field network (remote-update tooling used on site) DS p.13

2.3 Field communications

Installed field network: Modbus over Zigbee 2.4 GHz (ETSI EN 300 328), 128-bit AES, 250 kbps, ~1200 m line-of-sight, mesh topology — every TCU can act as a router; the NCU is the network coordinator. DS p.11 · IM p.17
Any replacement using a different radio (e.g. Sub-1GHz / LoRa) cannot coexist with the installed fleet — mixed operation is not possible.
Zigbee mesh network diagram
Installed Zigbee mesh topology. NCU as coordinator, TCUs as routers. — Installation Manual D002-PS17026, p.17, Fig. 8

2.4 NCU — P4Q Suntrack Network Control Unit X12092#09 (×1, plant-wide)

FunctionGateway tracker network ↔ SCADA; centralizes positions/alarms; wind-alarm logic sends fleet to safe position; cleaning-position groups 1–8 via disconnect terminal block NCU p.3,10,24
Enclosure ("control box")Safybox BRES-54 hot-pressed polyester, 500 × 400 × 200 mm, IP66 / IK10, RAL-7035, −30…+120 °C, door opens >180°; ~10.5 kg installed; wall/frame mounted outdoors, connectors at bottom via double-membrane seals + antenna bulkhead BRES cat. · NCU p.11,23
Power input100–240 VAC nominal (90–264 VAC range), 50–60 Hz; < 0.80 A @115 V / < 0.60 A @230 V; plant feeds 230 VAC NCU p.10 · PLA-COM-01
Internal PSUDelta DRC-24V30W1AZ: 24 VDC / 1.25 A / 30 W, DIN rail, Class II double-isolated Delta DS p.1–2
ProtectionsRCCB EPP DE F63 40 A / 30 mA + MCB C6 + 2× surge arresters EPP DE PS20 (Uc < 320 V, Imax 40 kA, IEC 61643-1); internal 320 V varistor Site photo · NCU p.10
CPUCPU-Control Suntrack 32H; status LEDs (SW On / Comm / Alarm / Prog); internal RTC backup battery NCU p.25–27
Downstream (to TCUs)Zigbee 2.4 GHz coordinator serving all 86 TCUs + wind sensor unit; gateway module Digi ConnectPort X2 (XBee→Ethernet); external 2.4 GHz antenna (ZANT24CWFIX) NCU p.13 · Digi DS
Upstream (to SCADA)Ethernet — Modbus TCP to the plant monitoring system (GreenPowerMonitor) via fiber/switch in the inverter station; internal 5-port Ethernet switch (Sixnet SLX-5ES-1); fixed IP on plant LAN; published register map covering the 86 motor addresses PLA-COM-01 · map revD
Environment−25…+65 °C operating NCU p.10
StandardsEMC 2004/108/CE — EN 61000-6-2/-6-4, EN 55011, EN 61000-4-x series; CE NCU p.29
Installed NCU cabinet interior at Calle Larga
Installed NCU cabinet at Calle Larga (field photo, Apr 2019). Top row: RCCB EPP DE F63 (40 A, 30 mA), MCB C6, 2× EPP DE PS20 surge arresters, Delta Chrome 24 V PSU. Below: CPU-Control Suntrack 32H with Ethernet port. — iEnergia O&M photo archive
NCU internal assembly drawing X12092#08
NCU internal assembly drawing. Backplate layout: RCCB / MCB / surge arresters / PSU, Suntrack 32H CPU board, 5-port Ethernet switch, DIN terminal blocks, gateway. — P4Q drawing ASSY-X12092 Rev A, sheet 1
NCU enclosure bottom cable entries
NCU cable entries. Bottom-face membrane seals for power and communications cables. — P4Q NCU technical data (NCU_Cable Access)
Comms block diagram: tracker NCU to SCADA
NCU integration into plant monitoring (as-built). The tracker NCU connects over Ethernet to the plant switch and is polled by the GreenPowerMonitor SCADA. — As-built drawing PLA-COM-01 "Diagrama en Bloques", sheet 1 (detail)

2.5 Wind / weather sensing — Suntrack RSU

UnitSuntrack RSU (Remote Sensor Unit), ASA enclosure 348 × 276 × 190 mm, IP67, −25…+70 °C RSU DS p.1–6
Power90–264 VAC single-phase, 12.5 W typical (internal Delta 24 V/10 W PSU) RSU DS p.7
SensorsAnemometer ANEMO4403 (+ snow sensor type 260-700 documented); up to 5 sensor inputs (RS-485 / analog / digital) RSU DS p.1,4
CommsZigbee to NCU (wireless variant installed); alarms trigger fleet safe-position RSU DS p.1

2.6 Plant-level layout & PV modules

Trackers81 trackers: T00S–T49S (50, south field) + T13N–T44N excl. T27N (31, north field) PLA-T-01
Motors / TCUs86 motors = 86 TCUs, monitoring IDs 1–86. Five trackers carry two motors each: T00S, T01S, T26N, T28N, T49S PLA-T-01 (Note 3)
Strings353 strings of 29 modules (per combiner-box table CB01–CB18) ≈ 10,237 modules PLA-T-01 (derived)
Tables (mesas)Tables of 5 or 6 modules (interior/exterior types per layout symbology) PLA-T-01
Tracker mechanicsAlion AST: ballasted single axis, rotation > ±60°, A-frame on concrete track, slew drive + geared table coupling, Storm-Lock (Geneva) stow lock; one drive can operate up to 120 modules Alion DS p.2
Module envelope (tracker)Framed & frameless supported; string voltage ≤ 1500 V; module current ≤ 15 A Alion DS p.2
PV moduleLongi LR6-72PD 350–370M, 72-cell mono PERC, double-glass bifacial. Exact wattage variant: TO BE CONFIRMED Longi DS
Dimensions / weight1971 × 990 × 6 mm; 27.3 kg Longi DS
Electrical (360M @STC)360 W; Voc 48.5 V; Isc 9.45 A; Vmp 39.9 V; Imp 9.02 A Longi DS
System ratingsMax system voltage DC 1500 V (IEC); series fuse 20 A; Class II Longi DS
Junction box / leadsIP67, 3 diodes; output cable 4 mm², 300 mm Longi DS
Relevance to retrofitController-only swap — modules, clamps and purlins are untouched. Module data provided for electrical context (string-powered options, aux panel siting).
String distribution per combiner box
String distribution (as-built). CB01–CB18 with connected strings and tracker ranges. — PLA-T-01 As Built, detail
Tracker to motor ID mapping in monitoring system
Tracker → motor ID map (monitoring system). 86 motor IDs; dual-motor trackers appear as -1/-2. — PLA-T-01 As Built, detail
Tracker distribution layout, Calle Larga
Tracker distribution — full as-built layout. South field (T00S–T49S) and north field (T13N–T44N); motor positions marked; combiner boxes CB01–CB18; inverter station (CIT) at center. — PLA-T-01 "Distribución de Trackers", As Built rev. Dec 2023

2.7 Tracker structure & mounting interface (Alion AST)

Structural data for any vendor that needs to fix hardware (brackets, sensors, controller mounts) to the tracker. Source: Alion layout set 0325_ast_ienergiacallelarga, project 00325, dated 05-22-2018, sheets S5.0–S5.4, plus the Alion proforma BOM of 25-May-2018.

Drawing status: every Alion sheet is stamped "PRELIMINARY — NOT FOR CONSTRUCTION". No later Alion structural revision has been found. Treat dimensions as nominal and verify critical interface dimensions on site before fabricating brackets.
Not a conventional torque-tube tracker. The 50 mm round tube (labelled "torque tube" on the drawings, "drive tube" in the BOM) is a rotating drive shaft. The slew drive at the row end spins it. Pinion gears on the tube engage the riveted stainless tooth strip of the arc gear under each A-frame, and the table pivots on the Ø12 mm clevis pin at the A-frame apex. The tube turns many revolutions for a single stroke of the table, so it does not hold a fixed angle relative to the modules.
Anything that must tilt with the modules must mount on the Z-purlins, the arc gear or the pivot arm, never on the 50 mm tube or the A-frame, which are fixed. S5.0/5 · S5.3 · BOM
PartDimension / specSource
Drive ("torque") tubeØ50.0 mm OD / 47.0 mm ID (1.5 mm wall), 5,110 mm long, 6-module table. Pinion-pin holes 25 / 209 / 662 mm from each end, plus 2,456 and 2,654 mm. 5-module table tube is a separate part (BOM 61089). Its length is not shown on S5.3: TO BE CONFIRMED. Tube material is not stated on the sheet.S5.3/8
Coupling tube (between tables)Ø75.0 mm OD / 72.0 mm ID, 1,057 mm long, 980 mm between hardware slotsS5.3/4
Pinion gearØ110 outer · Ø91 · Ø82 · Ø50 bore (fits the tube), 70 mm wide, Ø7.5 mm pin through tube. Cast stainless steelS5.3/5
BushingØ90 flange / Ø59 body, 18 mm, 4 × M6. Cast ZA27. Seats in the Ø60 mm hole of the A-frame tieS5.3/7 · S5.2/1
Lock gear (Storm-Lock)115 × 87 mm plate, 2.5 mm, 4 × M8. Cast ZA27S5.3/6
Arc gear1,111 mm wide (1,065 / 977 mm inner) × 556 mm deep. 1.2 mm sheet, riveted SS tooth strip (4.8 mm SS rivets). Pivot arm on top: 4 × M6 per pivot-arm bracket each side, 2 × M6 at the arc gear each sideS5.3/1–3
A-frameLegs 1,050 mm, 39° apex, 785 mm base. Pivot = Ø12 × 80 mm stainless clevis pin at the apex. Tie/leg 1.2 mm ASTM A653. Foot 2.0 mm ASTM A1011 Gr 50, hot-dip galvanized, epoxied to the trackS5.2/1–3
Z-purlin (2 per table)6,138 mm long (6-module table), 78 × 44 mm section. Ø7 mm holes (7 in plan, 5 in elevation) plus 20 × 3 mm slots (20). M6 at each arc gear, 4 shear tabs per arc gearS5.2/4–5
A-frame spacing6-module: interior table 3,588 mm (2 A-frames), exterior table 2 × 2,247 mm = 4,493 mm (3 A-frames).
5-module: interior 3,021 mm, exterior 2 × 1,716 mm = 3,433 mm
S5.0 · S5.1
Module height above grade1,254 mm at 0° · 537 mm at ±45° · 366 mm at ±60°S5.0/5
Slew drive + motor (×86)SE5C, 62:1, 12 mm input shaft (BOM 60094). Round male-male adaptor weldment (60183), 2 drive-shaft spacer tubes each (60195). Bracket 3 mm A1011 Gr 50 on a ≥342 kg concrete base, 2 × M10 J-bolts. Motor: Dunker GR53×30 + PLG52 gearbox, 126.5:1 (60093)BOM · S2.18–19
Controller (P4Q TCU) mountingAlways above the slew drive, under the modules. End rows (details 4–6): TCU on Unistrut rails fixed to the lower flange of the end-row Z-purlin, 4 × Ø9 mm field-drilled holes. Typical rows (details 7–9): TCU + aux panel on Unistrut rails carried by purlin extensions (C-channel, BOM 60086). No field drilling specified.S5.4
Sheet material1.2 mm ASTM A653 CS Type B, 345 MPa min. yield, G90 pre-galvanized or Galvalume per ASTM A792. Fasteners M6 zinc-flakeS5.3 notes
AST south exterior elevation showing pivot, arc gear, pinion and torque tube
Section through the table. The table pivots at the A-frame apex. The arc gear tilts with the modules, while the drive tube and pinion stay low in the A-frame tie. — Alion S5.0 detail 5
Arc gear elevation with pivot arm
Arc gear + pivot arm. These are tilting parts and valid mounting surfaces. Tooth strip is riveted stainless. — Alion S5.3 detail 1
Coupling tube, pinion gear, bushing, lock gear and torque tube dimensions
Drive components. Coupling tube Ø75/72 × 1,057, pinion gear, bushing, lock gear, and torque tube Ø50/47 × 5,110 mm. — Alion S5.3 details 4–8
Interior and exterior 6-module table elevations with A-frame spacing
6-module tables. Interior table: 2 A-frames at 3,588 mm. Exterior table: 3 A-frames at 2 × 2,247 mm. — Alion S5.0 details 3–4
A-frame elevation with clevis pin and Ø60 bushing seat
A-frame. Ø12 × 80 mm SS clevis pin (pivot) and Ø60 mm bushing seat in the tie. — Alion S5.2 detail 1
Controller and power assembly mounting details
Controller mounting. End rows use Ø9 mm field-drilled holes in the Z-purlin. Typical rows use Unistrut rails on purlin extensions. — Alion S5.4 details 1–9

Downloads: Alion structural extract (P0.1, S2.18–S2.19, S4.0, S5.0–S5.4) · Alion project BOM 25-May-2018. The full 36-sheet layout set and the Alion mechanical installation manual are available on request.

2.8 Current TCU installation — location & fixings

Installed P4Q TCU hanging under its 30 W aux panel above the slew drive, tracker T13N
As installed, tracker T13N (28-Feb-2019). The TCU hangs below its 30 W aux panel, held by 4 screws at its flange corners. The panel sits on rails carried by C-channel purlin extensions at the drive end of the row, next to the table, and tilts with it. The slew drive (Dunker motor, round adaptor to the Ø50 drive tube on both sides) is directly below on its concrete base. The motor pigtail runs from the TCU to the motor connector. — iEnergia photo archive, IMG_20190228_103639
Back of P4Q 30 W panel ZPS2X36C001 with mounting hole positions
Aux panel ZPS2X36C001, rear view. 8 slotted holes, 6 × 9 mm, in the two long frame rails. Holes are 317 mm apart across the panel, at 75 / 204 / 244 / 484 mm from the top edge. The TCU uses the 75 + 204 mm holes (129 mm pitch = TCU hole pattern). — P4Q drawing ZPS2X36C001 Rev A
InterfaceDimensions / fastenersSource
LocationOne TCU per slew drive (86). It sits at the drive point of the row, above the slew drive, under the modules, on the tilting table, so it rotates with the tracker (internal inclinometer). Mount it vertically on a flat surface, out of direct sun, with the TCU X-axis parallel to the tracker rotation axisS5.4 · IM p.19,22 · photo
TCU body344 × 167 × 135 mm, 2.8 kg (3 Ah) / 3.3 kg (6 Ah)IM p.13–14
TCU → aux panel4 flange holes 9.5 × 11.5 mm on a 317 × 129 mm pattern. Fixings supplied with the TCU: 4 × self-tapping screw 4.2 × 25 DIN 7981 A2, 4 × washer Ø4.3 DIN 6798A A2, 4 × large washer Ø4.3 DIN 9021 A2, 4 × U clip nut (for DIN 7970 screws), clipped onto the panel frame. Torque 1.7 N·m. Do not use the mounting holes for groundingIM p.10,21
Aux panel645 × 345 × 25 mm, 2.8 kg. Frame rail 20 mm. Holes 6 × 9 mm slots: 317 mm apart across, at 75 / 204 / 244 / 484 mm from the top edgeZPS dwg
Panel → tracker, typical rowsUnistrut rails ("Universal sheet strut, P4Q", BOM 61526, qty 182 ≈ 2 per TCU) on purlin extensions (C-channel, BOM 60086, qty 162). Each extension bolts to the Z-purlin with nut + bolt through the lower 2 holes at the arc gear. No drilling is specified.
Panel-to-rail hole pair not drawn; the 244 / 484 mm holes are free: TO BE CONFIRMED ON SITE
S5.4/7–9 · OP-MIP-501 p.26
Panel/TCU → tracker, end rowsUnistrut rails fixed to the lower flange of the end-row Z-purlin (table next to the slew drive) through 4 × Ø9 mm field-drilled holes. Ø9 mm suits M8S5.4/4–6
Fasteners in the Alion BOM for this scopeM8 × 16 (364) · M8 × 25 (304) · M8 × 45 (40) · M8 nuts (708 = 364 + 304 + 40). All class 8.8, zinc-flake/B695. Per-TCU set: 4 × M5 × 30 hex bolt + 4 × M5 nut + 4 × M5 × 10 socket cap screw (each qty 344 = 86 × 4). Which bolt goes on which joint is not stated in the BOM: TO BE CONFIRMED ON SITEBOM
Motor connection1,600–1,650 mm motor pigtail from the TCU to the slew-drive motor, below it. Route and tie the cable to the structure so it can't snag during rotationE1.2 · IM p.22
For a replacement TCU: the simplest retrofit keeps the existing purlin extensions and Unistrut rails. The new controller (and panel, if it has one) should either reuse the 317 × 129 mm pattern, or come with an adaptor plate that bolts to the existing rails with M8 hardware. It must sit within the motor-cable reach (~1.6 m) of the slew-drive motor.
S1Vendor: state exactly what each bracket carries (sensor, controller, panel), its mass and wind area, whether it must tilt with the modules, and the intended attachment point (Z-purlin / arc gear / pivot arm / A-frame / track). Provide a bracket drawing for interface check.Vendor

3Proposed System — Solarsurges

Extracted from the Solarsurges Company Profile & Product Brochure (EN, 12 pages, doc. dated 2026-07-06). The brochure is a company-profile document: it does not state connector types, cable specifications, pinouts, dimensions, weights or mounting details — those gaps are flagged and consolidated in Section 5.

TCU — Surge Track S350 (closest match to installed architecture)
Power supplySelf-Powered or String-Powered (current-source technology, "no pony panel needed") Bro p.3
Aux PV panel (self-powered)60 W / "customizable" — voltage window TO BE CONFIRMED Bro p.3
BatteryLiFePO4, 25.6 V, 3.4 Ah / 6 Ah, CC-CV Bro p.3
Motor typeBrushless / Brushed — voltage & current rating TO BE CONFIRMED Bro p.3
CommunicationSub-1GHz / LoRa Mesh / RS485 / Bluetooth · Modbus RTU · zero-config self-forming mesh Bro p.3
Protection / environmentIP67; −35…+60 °C; altitude < 4000 m Bro p.3
Tracking< ±1° accuracy; range −60…+60°; astronomical algorithm + position sensor; backtracking; night return Bro p.3
Consumption0.05 kWh/day Bro p.3
ProtectionsOvercurrent; over/under-voltage; wind / snow / rain modes (require sensors) Bro p.3
Other TCU variantsAC150/350/450 (90–264 VAC) · DC24 (24 VDC) · S350-MD0X string-powered multi-drive Bro p.9–11
Motor Drive Unit (MD0X)24 V rated, 150 W rated, IP65, −30…+60 °C Bro p.11
Connectors / cables / dimensionsNOT STATED IN BROCHURE — TO BE CONFIRMED
NCU
Power supply220 VAC / 24 VDC Bro p.4
CommunicationSub-1GHz / LoRa Mesh / RS485 / 4G / Ethernet Bro p.4
ProtocolsModbus RTU / MQTT — Modbus TCP server not explicitly stated: TO BE CONFIRMED Bro p.4
Protection / environmentIP65; −30…+60 °C; < 4000 m Bro p.4
FeaturesEdge computing (local aggregation & anomaly detection); GPS; bulk parameter config; broadcast control; OTA firmware for NCU and TCUs; historical data query; weather-station integration Bro p.4
Enclosure / PSU / protectionsNOT STATED — TO BE CONFIRMED
Ecosystem
SCADASurgeTrack Solar SCADA — on-premise / cloud / mobile; Golang+Vue stack, MySQL + TDengine + Redis, TLS Bro p.5
Weather stationUltrasonic wind speed/direction, temperature/humidity, laser snow depth, tipping-bucket rain gauge, acoustic hail flux Bro p.6
Control logicAuto-stow at 18 m/s wind; adaptive cadence; smart backtracking; AI tracking (+1–8% claimed, 2 GW fleet validation claimed) Bro p.7
Drive architectures1C1C (one controller per motor, 0.1°) and 1C2C (one controller drives two motors, ±0.3° sync, −50% controllers, −40% cabling) Bro p.8,11
Certifications statedISO-9001, CE, IP67 test, EMC, built-in surge protection Bro p.2,12
Not statedIEC 62817 · Chile RF homologation (SUBTEL) · UN38.3 · warranty terms — TO BE CONFIRMED

4Compatibility Matrix

Verdict per row: ✅ compatible ⚠️ needs adapter / verification ❌ mismatch TO BE CONFIRMED. Scope: controllers only — Alion tracker mechanics and Longi modules remain in place.

4.1 Input power & cabling

ItemInstalled (P4Q Suntrack)Proposed (Solarsurges)Verdict
TCU supply architectureSelf-powered: 30 W/36 V aux panel + LiFePO4 25.6 V — zero field cablingS350 self-powered (60 W / customizable panel) or string-powered; LiFePO4 25.6 V✅ matches
Reuse of existing aux panels86× ZPS2X36C001, 30 W / 36 V, MC4 leads (input window today 26–40 V)"60 W / customizable" — acceptance of 30 W / 36 V input not statedTO CONFIRM
Motor drive24 VDC brushed, ≤ 6 A per TCU, overcurrent flag > 15.5 ABrushed supported; MD0X drive 24 V / 150 W; main-TCU ratings unstated⚠️ verify current
NCU supply100–240 VAC (230 VAC on site), 24 VDC internal rail220 VAC / 24 VDC✅
Cable gaugesMotor 2×16 AWG (1650 mm pigtail); panel PV1-F 2.5 mm²; captive to TCU glandsNot statedTO CONFIRM
Weather sensor powerRSU: 90–264 VAC, 12.5 WWeather station power not statedTO CONFIRM

4.2 Connectors

ItemInstalledProposedVerdict
Motor connectorWEIPU SP21 series 3-pin screw-coupling (field-verified 13-Jul-2026; P4Q docs state Binder 99-5606-75-03 bayonet — installed part differs). Pinout 1 = M−, 2 = M+, 3 = NC; motor-side 6.35 mm crimp receptaclesNot stated⚠️ mate SP21 or re-terminate
Aux panel connectorMC4-compatible pair (female is non-standard Sungold FL02701)Not statedTO CONFIRM
Service portWEIPU SP1312/S4C RS-485 (PC + USB converter)Bluetooth / mobile / PC debugging; physical port unstated✅ functional equivalent
NCU cable entriesBRES-54 membrane seals + antenna bulkheadEnclosure/entries not stated (IP65)TO CONFIRM

4.3 Communications

ItemInstalledProposedVerdict
Field network NCU↔TCUModbus over Zigbee 2.4 GHz mesh, AES-128Sub-1GHz / LoRa mesh / RS485 / Bluetooth — no Zigbee❌ not interoperable
ConsequenceFull-fleet swap required in one campaign: 1 NCU + 86 TCUs + wind sensing (consistent with the vendor's stated position — mixed operation impossible)⚠️ plan accordingly
RF regulatory (Chile)2.4 GHz ISM, ETSI EN 300 328 (operating today)Sub-1GHz band & SUBTEL homologation not stated (Chile band plan 915–928 MHz)TO CONFIRM
Upstream to plant SCADAEthernet Modbus TCP to GreenPowerMonitor; published 86-address register mapEthernet / 4G available; protocols listed Modbus RTU / MQTT⚠️ Modbus TCP + map to confirm
Wind protection chainRSU + anemometer → NCU wind alarm → fleet safe positionWeather station → NCU; auto-stow at 18 m/s✅ equivalent (threshold config to confirm)

4.4 Module & mechanical compatibility

ItemInstalledProposedVerdict
PV modulesLongi LR6-72PD double-glass bifacial (1971×990×6 mm, ≤1500 V, Imp ≈ 9 A) on Alion clampsController-only retrofit; vendor claims module-type adaptability✅ unaffected
Tracking rangeAlion AST rotation > ±60°; TCU tracks with internal inclinometer−60…+60° range; astronomical + position sensor✅ range matches
Stow interlockStorm-Lock (Geneva mechanism) engages at stowStow logic parameters not statedTO CONFIRM
TCU mountingBracket on A-frame; 4 holes, 317×129 mm pattern, shared with aux panelDimensions / mounting not statedTO CONFIRM
Dual-motor trackers5 trackers (T00S, T01S, T26N, T28N, T49S) run 2 motors = 2 TCUs each today1C2C mode: one controller, two synchronized drives (±0.3°)✅ opportunity — verify fit
Environmental ratingTCU IP65, −10…+60 °C / NCU IP66 IK10TCU IP67, −35…+60 °C / NCU IP65✅ TCU better ⚠️ NCU box

4.5 Certifications

ItemInstalledProposedVerdict
CE / EMCCE; IEC 61000 series (test reports on file)CE, EMC claimed✅ nominal — request reports
Tracker-controller qualificationIEC 62817 test reports on fileNot statedTO CONFIRM
Radio certificationETSI EN 300 328 (2.4 GHz)Not stated; Chile homologation unknownTO CONFIRM
Battery transportUL1642 cells; IATA lithium procedures documentedLiFePO4 stated; UN38.3 not statedTO CONFIRM
Bottom line. (1) Self-powered architecture matches — no new LV cabling, provided aux-panel reuse and motor-current margins are confirmed. (2) The single hard physical interface is the motor connector on 86 pigtails — field-verified as WEIPU SP21 series screw-coupling (documentation states Binder 99-5606-75-03). (3) Modules are untouched. (4) The decisive mismatch is the radio: Zigbee vs Sub-1GHz forces a one-campaign full-fleet swap plus SCADA re-integration and Chilean RF homologation.

5Open Questions — Vendor Checklist

Every item marked TO BE CONFIRMED above maps to this checklist. V = answer expected from Solarsurges · iE = iEnergia internal verification.

A · Motor drive & power (critical)

A1Maximum continuous and peak motor current of the S350 TCU (and MD0X drive) at 24 VDC. Installed motors run ≤ 6 A with a > 15.5 A overcurrent flag.V
A2Can the S350 charge from the existing 30 W / 36 V aux panels (input window 26–40 VDC today), or does it require its stated 60 W panel?V
A3If new aux panels are required: dimensions, weight, connector type, and bracket interface for 86 positions.V
A4Confirm installed battery size (3 Ah vs 6 Ah packs) by field check / purchase records.iE
A5Motor duty cycle supported (pulse / rest profile) vs the installed limit of 30 s @ max current + 10 s rest.V

B · Connectors & cabling (critical)

B1Motor connector: does the new TCU mate the WEIPU SP21 series 3-pin screw-coupling connector (field-verified; P4Q documentation states Binder 99-5606-75-03 — sample a few more trackers to confirm fleet uniformity) directly, via adapter cable, or does it require re-terminating 86 motor pigtails?V
B2TCU-side cable set: lengths, gauges, glands supplied? (today: motor 2×16 AWG 1650 mm; panel PV1-F 2.5 mm² ~500 mm)V
B3Aux-panel connector type (standard MC4?). Note the existing female is a non-standard MC4-compatible part.V
B4Physical wired service port (RS-485) available besides Bluetooth? Connector type?V
B5NCU enclosure: model, IP/IK rating, dimensions, cable entries, antenna bulkhead. Is an outdoor cabinet (≥ IP66, like today's) included?V

C · Communications & SCADA (critical)

C1Exact Sub-1GHz operating band and channel plan; SUBTEL (Chile) homologation status for TCU, NCU and any 4G module.V
C2Does the NCU expose a Modbus TCP server over Ethernet (not only Modbus RTU / MQTT)? Provide the full register map.V
C3Who performs the plant-SCADA (GreenPowerMonitor) re-integration, and is SurgeTrack SCADA mandatory or optional?V / iE
C4RF coverage design for 81 trackers on this layout: is one NCU still sufficient (as today), or are repeaters / multiple NCUs proposed?V
C5Weather station: sensor list, accuracy, mounting and power; can the existing anemometer be reused?V
C6Is the wind-stow threshold configurable? (brochure fixes 18 m/s; site threshold must match the Alion structural specification.)V

D · Mechanical & site integration

D1TCU dimensions, weight and mounting pattern; adapter plates for the existing 317 × 129 mm bracket or new brackets for 86 positions?V
D2Inclinometer: internal or external? Accuracy? Mounting-orientation constraints on the Alion A-frame.V
D31C2C applicability to the 5 dual-motor trackers: these are two independent drives on one long single-axis tracker — not a dual-axis system.V
D4Stow behavior compatibility with the Alion Storm-Lock mechanism: stow angle and approach profile.V
D5Backtracking commissioning: who loads row-geometry parameters and validates tracking after the swap?V / iE

E · Certifications, quality & commercial

E1IEC 62817 design-qualification report for the proposed TCU (exists for the installed unit).V
E2EMC / CE test reports (not only marks) and surge-immunity class.V
E3UN38.3 + IATA documentation for LiFePO4 packs shipped to Chile.V
E4Warranty term and RMA process (brochure states none).V
E5OTA firmware security model (signing, rollback) for TCU and NCU.V
E6Contactable references for retrofit projects on third-party trackers (brochure lists one "tracking system upgrade" project).V
E7Spare-parts availability commitment (years) for the proposed hardware generation.V

6Annex — Drawings & Photos

Every figure references its source document and page. Additional documentation (full manuals, datasheets, Modbus maps, IEC 62817 reports) can be shared on request under NDA.

Original documents — cabling & connections (download)

Original manufacturer PDFs covering the cable assemblies and connection interfaces of the installed TCU, provided for direct engineering verification of connector and cable compatibility.

DocumentContentSizeDownload
ASSY-C16003#38 Rev A — Motor cableMotor cable assembly: Binder 99-5606-75-03 connector, pin/color table, 2×16 AWG UL2464 cable, gland M16×1.5, crimp receptacles. Note: installed connector field-verified as WEIPU SP21 series (see §2.1 photos)138 KBPDF ↓
ASSY-C16003#01 Rev A — Power (+) cableAux-panel power (+) cable: MC4-compatible female (Sungold FL02701), PV1-F 2.5 mm² 0.6/1 kV, gland M12×1.5100 KBPDF ↓
ASSY-C16003#02 Rev A — Power (−) cableAux-panel power (−) cable: MC4-compatible male, PV1-F 2.5 mm²113 KBPDF ↓
ZPS2X36C001 — Aux PV panel drawing30 W / 36 V auxiliary panel: dimensions, cable set (2× PV1-F 2.5 mm²), MC4-compatible connector pair93 KBPDF ↓
D002-PS17026 Rev A — TCU Installation & Maintenance ManualFull installation manual: mounting pattern, cable glands, electric connection (§4.5 — motor, power, comms, antenna), maintenance1.1 MBPDF ↓